top of page

How It All Began


Traveling overseas to live among Christian communities has been an ardent dream of mine since summer 2011, right before Derrick and I met. In fact, that initial push for departure rallied a team together that included Derrick as editor. It was through group Skype meetings and personal messages that he and I first discovered our mutual hearts' desire for life. After a couple months of praying and meeting, quite a few members of our team separately felt they needed to withdraw from the plans. It was painful for me to surrender the timing of this trip because I so desperately believed in it and longed for it.

Looking back now, I am thrilled to be the recipient of a dream resurrected and in circumstances of my life I never could have asked for four years ago. Although it had not been the right time for our big adventure around the world, Derrick and I discovered each other. Our foundation was laid in the midst of something very beautiful. We grew through the difficulties of dating long distance, and then my moving from the only world I knew to be near him in Missouri. We shared a beautiful day of blessing when we committed to each other in marriage, surrounded by the real love of our combined communities. We ventured into dreaming up a new film business we could work on together and the hard faith-testing of relying on Jesus to provide as we moved to a brand new city where we currently live. I am awed by the significance of Denver in our lives. Here, where we have experienced the relentless healing love of Jesus through his body at Bloom, where we have been inspired as artists to grow and where we are now once again planning to travel overseas together.

Oh I am so grateful God knew the perfect timing that would be the very sweetest! I can’t imagine anything more thrilling than embarking on this journey in the company and covering of my husband and comrade, reflecting together on all we are experiencing and collaborating on film to share beautiful stories. I have discovered how very trustworthy Jesus is with our most precious desires. †

To subscribe to future posts, click here.

Family.jpg

We are Derrick and Christy Collins, the parents of two sons, River and August. We thrive off of partnering with people to create things that are meaningful to them and life-giving to all. Our desire with Wild Bridge Travels is toimmerse ourselves in four
Christian communities of a particular country and

culture very different from our own for two months each. We hope in some small way to join Christ’s work of building bridges among his people by creating a film showcasing a handful of honest, inspiring human

portraits. The film is currently in the post-production stage.

Follow Us

  • Grey Instagram Icon
RSS Feed

Where are we now?

Blog Archive
bottom of page